Fight or flight

 

If Brexit and Boris win – I’m considering  moving. Canada or New Zealand look promising right now. Maybe I’ll find some quiet corner to bury my head in the sand and surround myself with like-minded people (and sheep).

From Farage’s audacious racism, to ugliness outside the fan-filled bars of France, the mood of these times makes me want to fly as far from here as possible.

But then Jo Cox was murdered and now I want to stay here and do something. Like she did.

As police and politicians on all sides wonder what we can learn from her death, I want to learn lessons from her life. She backed up her beliefs with action and put other people’s needs before her own. At a time when it looks like a dangerous thing to put yourself out there as a public servant – she makes me want to do just that. I probably won’t, but I will make some changes.

I won’t take flight.  I will be staying here and picking my battles.

 

Leave a comment